Material Handling Network

June 2018 Issue

July 2018 Material Handling Directory

2018 Inserts


Social Media Links

View Printer Friendly

SME Elects Exceptional Engineers, Researchers and Business Leaders to the 2009 College of Fellows

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

DEARBORN, MI — The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME), the world’s leading professional society serving the manufacturing industry, has elected nine industry leaders to the Society’s prestigious College of Fellows for 2009.

The SME College of Fellows was created to honor those members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of manufacturing. A Fellow is a member recognized by the manufacturing community as a contributor to key aspects of the profession. This honor can only be earned through years of dedication and service to manufacturing engineering.

The 2009 class joins 245 other SME members who have been elected as Fellows since the program’s inception in 1986, and represents various segments of the manufacturing community.

“The process to select an SME Fellow is very rigorous and involves a thorough review of accomplishments in several areas including outstanding contributions to the social, technological and educational aspects of the manufacturing profession,” said Richard Shoemaker, SME President, 2009.

In a ceremony held Saturday, November 14, 2009 at the SME Fall Meeting in Dearborn, eight of these new Fellows accepted medals and lifelong membership into the Society.

Those recognized that evening were David Cole, Chia-Hsiang Menq, Sudhakar Pandit, Albert Shih, David Stephenson, Albert Wavering III, Kazuo Yamazaki and John Ziegert. Newly elected Fellow, Jerry Fuh will be honored at a future event.

Overall, Shoemaker said of this year’s honorees, “They exemplify outstanding research, innovations, and leadership. We salute them for their ongoing dedication to the profession and to SME.”

Each of these recipients has been recognized by SME, their peers and the larger manufacturing community as key contributors to the social, technical and educational progress of manufacturing:

David Cole, PhD, FSME
Center for Automotive Research
Ann Arbor, Mich.

Cole’s research has focused on issues related to the restructuring of the North American auto industry and trends in globalization, technology, market factors and human resource requirements. He has spoken to more than 1,000 different groups on automotive issues and has been actively involved in the start-up of five different Ann Arbor-based companies.

Jerry Y.H. Fuh, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE
Department of Mechanical Engineering
National University of Singapore

Fuh has devoted himself to teaching manufacturing and design for nearly 20 years. He is the author of more than 180 journal papers, 160 conference papers, two monographs and holds six patents related to rapid prototyping and material. His research findings and expertise have been sought at many conferences and universities throughout Asia and the United States.

Chia-Hsiang Menq, PhD, FSME
Professor and Ralph W. Kurtz Chair in Mechanical Engineering
The Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio

Menq has accomplished new research findings in such areas as coordinate metrology, precision engineering and control and nanotechnology. His work has garnered support from the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Air Force, NASA and the U.S. Navy. Some of his previous honors include Ohio State University’s 2003 Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education, the National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award and the OSU College of Engineering Lumley Research Awards.

Sudhakar M. Pandit, PhD, FSME
Professor Department of Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics
Michigan Technological University
Houghton, Mich.

At Michigan Technological University, Pandit has made many technical contributions affecting industry. He has written two books and is the author or co-author of more than 150 peer-reviewed papers. One of his main contributions to industry has been the development of a new methodology called data dependent systems (DDS) and its applications to design and manufacturing.

Albert J. Shih, PhD, FSME
Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering
Co-Director, S.M. Wu Manufacturing Research Center
Associate Director, Medical Innovation Center
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Mich.

Shih holds five patents and has authored more than 200 publications. Currently, his research and teaching focuses are in biomedical design and manufacturing. In particular, his research covers the application of advanced design and manufacturing technology to medical devices, healthcare operations and patient safety.

David A. Stephenson, PhD, FSME
Research Assistant
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Mich.

Stephenson leads machining research activities on the National Institute of Standards & Technology 2 Micron Machining ATP (Advanced Technology Program) Project. He also works on environmentally conscious machining technologies as a contract project engineer at the Ford Advanced Manufacturing technology Development Department.

Albert J. Wavering III, FSME
Acting Deputy Director
National Institute of Standards & Technology
Gaithersburg, Md.

Wavering is responsible for laboratory operations and assists the director in establishing its strategic direction. Over the course of his 24-year career at NIST, Wavering has made significant technical and leadership contributions to performance metrics, test methods and standards for advanced manufacturing.

Kazuo Yamazaki, PhD, FSME
Professor of Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering
University of California, Davis
Davis, Calif.

Yamazaki’s work has focused not only on mechatronics, but also on such areas as manufacturing process design, control and manufacturing automation software. The author of more than 200 journal and conference papers, Yamazaki is also an inventor who holds 31 registered patents.

John C. Ziegert, PhD, FSME
Timken Chair of Automotive Design & Development
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Clemson University
Clemson, S.C.

Outside of his academic career at Clemson University, Ziegert is the co-founder of Tetra Precision Inc. a precision metrology systems supplier. At Clemson, his current research interests include designing systems and instruments for precision manufacturing and metrology. The author of more than 100 technical papers, he also holds four patents.

2010 Fellows Nominations Deadline:
SME members worldwide are encouraged to nominate members from industry, academia and government who have made a notable impact in the field of manufacturing. The deadline for 2010 Fellow nominations is December 1, 2009. Selection criteria includes leadership in industry, education, research and development, inventions publications and/or service to the profession. Visit to download a nomination form or complete one online.

About the SME College of Fellows:
The SME College of Fellows was created to honor those members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of manufacturing. A Fellow is a member recognized by the manufacturing community as a contributor to the social, technological and educational aspects of the profession. This honor can only be earned through years of dedication and service to manufacturing engineering.

View all Industry News

Home  |  Subscribe Now  |  Industry News  |  Business Profiles  |  Product Previews  |  Featured Columns
Advertising  |  Media Planner  |  Current Digital Magazine  |  2014 Digital Directory  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy  |  Site Map

Web Design and Web Development by the OIC Group

Copyright 2017 © Material Handling Network • 217 Loren Street, Washington, IL 61571
Tel: 309-699-4431 • Toll Free: 800-447-6901 • Fax: 309-698-0801
A WoodwardBizMedia Publication