Material Handling Network

June 2018 Issue

July 2018 Material Handling Directory

2018 Inserts


Social Media Links

View Printer Friendly

Safety Professionals Receive Prestigious Award From Amer. Soc. of Safety Engineers

Monday, July 20, 2009

DES PLAINES, IL — The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) recently honored eight ASSE members with the annual Region Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) award from each of the eight Society geographical regions for their ongoing contributions to their chapters, the Society and their commitment to protecting people, property and the environment. The recipients are Jack R. Iriart, CSP of Bakersfield, CA; George F. Wolff Jr., CSP, of Denver, CO; Jeffrey S. Oakley, PhD, CSP, of Friendswood, TX; Jeffrey W. Spackman of Orlando, FL; Maribeth A. Anderson of Chicago, IL; Ujwal Ritwik, CRSP, of Shuaiba, Kuwait; John A. Principe III, CHCM, CSP of Granville, OH; and Eric J. Clouthier of North Hampton, NH. All SPY award recipients were recognized by their peers at ASSE’s annual members’ business meeting June 28 during the Professional Development Conference (PDC) held in San Antonio, TX.

The Region SPY awards, voted on by peers, are given annually to the most outstanding safety professionals for contributions to service and leadership within their regions and chapters – for “making a difference”. There are eight ASSE regions, each containing anywhere from 15 to 20 chapters. ASSE members volunteer their time to assist their chapters and the society in promoting work safety and the safety, health and environmental (SH&E) profession.

Iriart, of the ASSE Bakersfield Chapter, received the award for Region I. He serves as environmental health & safety director for Gene Watson Construction. Wolff, principal safety manager for Rule Engineering LLC and member of the ASSE Colorado Chapter, received the Region II SPY award. Oakley, ASSE Gulf Coast Chapter member and director – Golf Coast Safety Institute in the Occupational Safety and Health Program at College of the Mainland in Texas, was recognized with the Region III SPY award.

The Region IV recipient and ASSE Central Florida Chapter President, Spackman, serves as director, corporate safety & security for Bright House Networks. The ASSE Greater Chicago Chapter member and new ASSE Region V Vice President Anderson, is the recipient of the Region V SPY award. She serves as corporate safety manager of operations for Sears Holdings Corp. The Region VI recipient, Ritwik, is a member of ASSE’s Kuwait Chapter and serves as senior specialist of health, safety and environment for the Kuwait National Petroleum Company.

Principe serves as environmental health & safety director at Denison University in Ohio and is a member of the ASSE Central Ohio Chapter; he won the Region VII SPY award. The Region VIII SPY went to ASSE Granite State Chapter member Clouthier. He currently serves as safety engineer for Harvey Building Products.

Founded in 1911, the Des Plaines, IL-based ASSE is the largest and oldest professional safety organization and is committed to protecting people, property and the environment. Its more than 32,000 occupational safety, health and environmental professional members lead, manage, supervise, research and consult on safety, health, transportation and environmental issues in all industries, government, labor, health care and education. For more information please go to

View all Industry News

Home  |  Subscribe Now  |  Industry News  |  Business Profiles  |  Product Previews  |  Featured Columns
Advertising  |  Media Planner  |  Current Digital Magazine  |  2014 Digital Directory  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy  |  Site Map

Web Design and Web Development by the OIC Group

Copyright 2017 © Material Handling Network • 217 Loren Street, Washington, IL 61571
Tel: 309-699-4431 • Toll Free: 800-447-6901 • Fax: 309-698-0801
A WoodwardBizMedia Publication