Material Handling Network

July 2018 Issue

July 2018 Material Handling Directory

2018 Inserts


Social Media Links

View Printer Friendly

Safety Foundation Awards Professional Development Grants To 20 Safety Professionals From Across United States

Friday, April 10, 2009

DES PLAINES, IL — The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) Foundation recently announced the 20 recipients of the Professional Development Grant Program given to occupational safety and health practitioners to help them advance in their career. The grants are supported by contributions from corporations, members and individuals who recognize the value occupational safety and health professionals bring to the workplace.

The ASSE Foundation is awarding $13,500 in professional development grants this year. The grant program provides assistance to safety professionals as they advance their occupational safety, health and environmental careers through certification study courses, professional development seminars or symposiums, educational conferences and college coursework.

The ASSE Foundation established a new grant program this year, the Terrance M. Hennessy Professional Development Grant. The first ever recipients of the Terrance M. Hennessy Grant are Shaman Ahuja of Auburn, AL; Michael Coleman of Springdale, AR; and Elizabeth C. Gabbett of Atlanta, GA. Ahuja, Research Assistant at Auburn University, was awarded $500 for Certified Safety Professional (CSP) study guides. Coleman, safety manager at Rockline Industries, received $650 to help cover registration fee for the ASSE annual Professional Development Conference (PDC) held in San Antonio this June. Gabbett, safety director at Hogan Construction Group, was awarded $850 for the CSP exam preparation workshop and CSP exam fee.

Established in honor and memory of ASSE Past-President Thomas Reilly and his wife Dorothy, the recipients of the Thomas & Dorothy Reilly Professional Development Grant are Brenda McCracken of Joliet, IL and Edward S. Sowers, Jr. of Apopka, FL. McCracken, adjunct faculty at Joliet Junior College, was awarded $500 for the Associated Safety Professional (ASP) exam preparation workshop. Independent loss control consultant, Sowers, received $500 for the CSP exam and application fees.

The Medina Professional Development Grant, established by ASSE member Rixio Medina, CSP, and his wife Alejandra of Houston, TX, has four recipients this year: Byron Curtis of White, SD, and Cynthia King, ASP, CET, of Henderson, CO, each awarded $750 for the Construction Health and Safety Technician (CHST) exam preparation workshop and application fee; Peti Janine Singletary of Spring, TX, awarded $850 for the CHST workshop and application fee; and Nick Nichols, PhD, of Durant, OK, awarded $650 for registration to ASSE’s PDC. Curtis currently serves as a jobsite safety specialist for Daktronics, Inc. King serves as safety & training specialist for the City of Aurora – Aurora Water, and Singletary is a safety manager at GSE Lining Technology, Inc. Dr. Nichols is an associate professor at Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

The Texas Safety Foundation Professional Development Grant will be received by: health & safety specialist at Rutgers University, Shaundree Davis of Bordentown, NJ, awarded $1,000 for the ASP and CSP exam preparation workshops; Jason Kawa of Philadelphia, PA, safety director at P. Agnes, Inc., awarded $500 for the CSP exam preparation course; Vindi Minne of Elizabeth, CO, safety coordinator at Highlands Ranch Metro District, awarded $500 for the ASP exam preparation course; and Crystal D. Turner of White Plaines, NY, construction management EHS at Bidwell Environmental LLC, awarded $500 for the CHSET certification fee and study guides.

The seven recipients of the Delmar E. Tally Professional Development Grant, established by ASSE members Del and Betty Tally of Austin, TX, include: Vincent Bernd, ASP of Tamarac, FL, awarded $1,000 for the CSP preparation workshop and examination fee; Brian Cook, CSP of Lakeland, FL, awarded $650 for the ASSE PDC registration fee; Jason Dean, CSP, of St. Louis, MO, awarded $700 for college tuition; Kristopher D. Johnson of Woodbury, MN, awarded $1,000 for the ASP preparation workshop and math review course; Danny C. K. Lee of Holliston, MA, awarded $500 for the ASP application fee and study guide; Brian Maynard of Surfside Beach, SC, awarded $500 for ASP preparation workshop; and Simone A. Vu of Los Angeles, CA, awarded $650 for ASSE PDC registration. Bernd serves as a safety specialist for the City of Tamarac; Cook is a safety & health technical manager at Walt Disney Company; Dean is a field safety specialist at Westaff; Johnson serves as health, environmental and safety professional at Marathon Petroleum Company; Lee serves as regional loss control manager at AIM Mutual Insurance; Maynard is a Hazmat safety manager at DynCorp International; and Vu serves as health & safety manager at AMVAC Chemical.

The American Society of Safety Engineers Foundation, established by and in partnership with the American Society of Safety Engineers, generates funding and provides resources for scholarship, applied research, academic accreditation, and related academic initiatives in order to advance the safety, health, and environmental profession. For more information on the Foundation and its programs visit

Founded in 1911, the Des Plaines, IL-based ASSE is the largest and oldest professional safety organization and is committed to protecting people, property and the environment. Its more than 32,000 occupational safety, health and environmental professional members lead, manage, supervise, research and consult on safety, health, transportation and environmental issues in all industries, government, labor, health care and education. For more information please go to

View all Industry News

Home  |  Subscribe Now  |  Industry News  |  Business Profiles  |  Product Previews  |  Featured Columns
Advertising  |  Media Planner  |  Current Digital Magazine  |  2014 Digital Directory  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy  |  Site Map

Web Design and Web Development by the OIC Group

Copyright 2017 © Material Handling Network • 217 Loren Street, Washington, IL 61571
Tel: 309-699-4431 • Toll Free: 800-447-6901 • Fax: 309-698-0801
A WoodwardBizMedia Publication