Material Handling Network

Sign Up for Network's eNewsletter & Digital Edition

*  Your Email Address:  

February 2016 Digital Edition

January 2016 Directory Digital Edition

2015 ProMat Show Guide



February is American Heart Month

February 1, 2016

Poor diet, lack of exercise and other major risk factors for heart disease and stroke are responsible for at least 25 percent of companies’ healthcare costs. Is it any wonder that investing in the health of employees is one of the best... Read more about February is American Heart Month

Take care of your equipment and it will take care of you! #130

January 18, 2016

As easy as it is today, cleaning the floors were as difficult and time consuming years ago. There are in today’s market, equipment that make sweeping and/or scrubbing that surface very quick indeed. Take the Advance Captor as a very good... Read more about Take care of your equipment and it will take care of you! #130

Are you treating your customers like dogs?

December 15, 2015

Having recently been introduced to a shameful statistic, I thought it timely to give you my opinion on this subject. See if you can swallow this dose of reality: When interviewed, travel agents believe they retain 78% of their paying customers.... Read more about Are you treating your customers like dogs?

View Printer Friendly

Construct My Scholarship Winners Selected

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

A total of 10 construction education scholarships have been awarded in the 2009 edition of the workforce development initiative. is designed to encourage teens to pursue a construction industry career. In addition to scholarships, provides students, teachers, counselors and parents with online information about the benefits of construction careers, as well as access to educational options and local industry resources.

The program is a joint effort of the Associated Equipment Distributors Foundation (AEDF), Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM) and Associated General Contractors of America (AGC).

This year the program was able to increase the number of scholarships awarded from three to 10 with the generous support of AEM member Kobelco Cranes North America of Houston, Texas.

Here are the 2009 winners, who have each received $1000 scholarships:

  • David Derakhshanian from Kansas City, Missouri, attending Pittsburg State University for construction management.
  • Ethan Heckenlaible from Stanley County High School, Fort Pierre, South Dakota to attend Lake Area Technical Institute for diesel technology.
  • Colleen Koeppen from Lake Mary Prep, Lake Mary, Florida to attend Florida Institute of Technology for mechanical engineering. 
  • John McCormick from Maynard, Massachusetts, attending Pennsylvania College of Technology for heavy equipment operation.
  • Zane Osgood from Ten Broeck Academy, Franklinville, New York to attend Alfred State College for diesel technology.
  • Zeke Perez from Denver School of Science and Technology, Denver, Colorado to attend University of Denver for construction management.
  • Matthew Pontarelli from Rochester, New York, attending Pennsylvania College of Technology for heavy equipment operation.
  • Matthew Rockhill from Oliver Walcott Technical High School, Torrington, Connecticut to attend Pennsylvania College of Technology for diesel technology.
  • Steve Skoloda from Hamburg Area High School, Hamburg, Pennsylvania to attend Pennsylvania College of Technology for diesel technology.
  • Christopher Cody Swain from Puxico High School, Puxico, Missouri to attend Linn State Technical College for service technician.

Visit the website – – to read the winning essays and for more information on applying for the 2010 scholarships. AEM administers the program. For more information contact David Bannister (, 414/274-0657)

View all Industry News

Home  |  Subscribe Now  |  Industry News  |  Business Profiles  |  Product Previews  |  Featured Columns
Advertising  |  Media Planner  |  Current Digital Magazine  |  2014 Digital Directory  |  Contact Us

Privacy Policy  |  Site Map

Web Design and Web Development by the OIC Group

Copyright 2016 © Material Handling Network • 217 Loren Street, Washington, IL 61571
Tel: 309-699-4431 • Toll Free: 800-447-6901 • Fax: 309-698-0801
A WoodwardBizMedia Publication